The Council Chairperson

Mr Neluvhalani has deep traces in the heritage landscape of South Africa ranging from local and national initiatives to World Heritage for over 29 years of his professional working experience. One of his signature contributions to the sector is in the development of Mapungubwe National Park & World Heritage Site while he was the General Manager at the South African National Parks.

He has particular interest and experience in Heritage Management and Development in the context of People and Conservation issues in South Africa Neluvhalani serves on several boards of which the latest was the Johannesburg City Parks & Zoo where he was the Chairperson.

His extensively published research papers are evidence of his passion for scholarly work. Among his papers presented at conferences is on the interesting subject of ‘Enabling transformation in heritage institutions by integrating Indigenous Knowledge Systems’. He has experience in spearheading new initiatives including policies, legislation, curriculum change and strategy development.


Mr. Edgar Neluvhalani

Council Chairperson

Members of the Council

Dr. Graham Dominy

Ministerial Appointee

Ms. Nontlaza Sizana

Ministerial Appointee

Ms. Salome Sithole

Ministerial Appointee

Dr. Tsholofelo Mosala

Ministerial Appointee

Dr. Refiloe Mabaso

National Libraries of South Africa


Ms. Esther Netshivhongweni

Heraldry Council


Mr. Jabulani Sithole

IZIKO Museums 

Deputy Chairperson

Adv. Motlatjo Ralefatane

Ditsong Museums 


Dr. Luyanda Mpahlwa

South African Heritage Resources Agency 


Ms Sibongile Nzimande

Chairperson of the National Archives Advisory Council (NAAC)

Mr. Luthando Jack

Eastern Cape Province Representative

Dr. Vikunduku Mnculwane

Kwa Zulu Natal Province Representative

Mr. Simon Nkosi

Mpumalanga Province Representative

Ms. Laura Robinson

Western Cape Province Representative

Mr. Onkabetse Mereki

Northern Cape Province Representative

Hosi Adv. Khavhareni Mahumani

Limpopo Province Representative

Mr. Tsheko Tsehlana

Gauteng Province Representative

Ms. Elodie Seotseng Tlhoaele

Free State Provincial Representative

Ms. Elizabeth Kibini

North West Council Member