Golden Shield Heritage Awards

Submission for Entries Closed :  10 November 2022

Entry forms and more details are available here:


The National Heritage Council conceived the Golden Shield National Heritage Awards (GOSHA) in 2012 as a way to acknowledge active citizenship that protects and promotes the country’s heritage. As the name of the awards suggests, these are the people who act as the shields against the obliteration of our cultural and natural heritage. It is important to acknowledge, thank and take pride in people who continuously contribute selflessly to the preservation, interpretation and promotion of South Africa’s rich cultural heritage.

The awards were motivated by the rationale that heritage has a significant role to play in promoting social cohesion and community development. Awards such as this one therefore give acknowledgement and expose the depth of the South African Heritage which is unique and diverse. This project takes a national character and is intended to be all-inclusive. We recognise the contribution of individuals, groups, or organisations/academic institutions that protect, preserve and promote the country’s heritage. The award recipients and the projects reflect best practice in promotion, preservation, conservation and/or interpretation of our heritage. Nominations are welcomed from all disciplines that have a direct bearing to how heritage is appreciated and preserved in the country.

Winners and Runner Up’s

You can nominate in the following categories:

1. National Living Treasure
2. Local Government Commitment
3. Preferred Heritage Destination
4. Young Heritage Activist
5. Voice Of Heritage
6. Heritage Journalism
7. Corporate Heritage Management
8. Liberation Heritage Steward
9. Heritage Education
10. Heritage Social Media Influencer

Two finalists in each category will be invited to the Awards Ceremony that will be held in Limpopo, Polokwane on 25 November 2022. The winners will be announced at the GOSHA awards.

The GOSHAs are the only awards in South Africa that recognizes the dedication, excellence and commitment of practitioners in the heritage and culture industry. It is hosted by the National Heritage Council of South Africa (NHC) and the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture in Limpopo.

The purpose of the award is to recognise those who are selflessly preserving and promoting the heritage that forms a critical part of we are as South Africans. Unlike in other sectors such as sport, the Heritage Practitioners whose work is not for themselves but for humanity, are among the least recognised for their contribution to the memory of the nation.

Quick links


353 Festival Street
1st Floor Hatfield
South Africa

Latitude: -25.7482731

Longitude: -28.2321192

National Heritage Council©2022.
All Rights Reserved
Connect With Us