The Council Chairperson

Mr Neluvhalani has deep traces in the heritage landscape of South Africa ranging from local and national initiatives to World Heritage for over 29 years of his professional working experience. One of his signature contributions to the sector is in the development of Mapungubwe National Park & World Heritage Site while he was the General Manager at the South African National Parks.

He has particular interest and experience in Heritage Management and Development in the context of People and Conservation issues in South Africa Neluvhalani serves on several boards of which the latest was the Johannesburg City Parks & Zoo where he was the Chairperson.

His extensively published research papers are evidence of his passion for scholarly work. Among his papers presented at conferences is on the interesting subject of ‘Enabling transformation in heritage institutions by integrating Indigenous Knowledge Systems’. He has experience in spearheading new initiatives including policies, legislation, curriculum change and strategy development.
Mr Edgar Neluvhalani

Members of the Council


Dr Graham Dominy

Ministerial Appointee
Screenshot 2021-12-02 at 00.56.12

Mr Jabulani Sithole

Ministerial Appointee

Ms Nontlaza Sizana

Ministerial Appointee

Ms Salome Mabilane

Ministerial Appointee

Adv Mphalane Makhura

Chairperson of National Archives and Records Service – NAAC
image3 (1)

Mr Luthando Jack

Eastern Cape Provincial Appointee
Frame 2 (5)

Ms Esther Netshivhongweni

Chairperson of Heraldry
image 13

Mr Moses Makhweyane

Chairperson of South African Heritage Resources Agency – SAHRA

Ms Refiloe Mabaso

Chairperson of the National Library of South Africa


Elodie Seotseng Tlhoaele

Free State Provincial Appointee

Mr Onkabetse Mereki

Northern Cape Provincial appointee

Dr Vikunduku Mnculwane

Kwazulu Natal provincial Appointee
Frame 4 (2)

Adv. Rod Solomons

Chairperson of Iziko Museums
image 14

Ms Laura Robinson

Western Cape Provincial Appointee

Mr Tsheko Tsehlana

Gauteng provincial appointee
Frame 2 (4)

Ms Karabo Rapoo

Chairperson of DITSONG Museums of South Africa 


Ms Lydia Moroane

Mpumalanga Provincial Appointee
Frame 2 (3)

Hosi Adv Khavhareni Mahumani

Limpopo Provincial Appointee

Position Currently Vacant

North West Provincial Representative


353 Festival Street
1st Floor Hatfield
South Africa

Latitude: -25.7482731

Longitude: -28.2321192

National Heritage Council©2022.
All Rights Reserved
Connect With Us