Bo-Kaap areas declared national heritage sites

A total of 19 areas in Bo-Kaap in the Western Cape have been declared as national heritage sites and gazetted in government’s official notice. This announcement was made by Arts and Culture Minister, Nathi Mthethwa at the Bo-Kaap Civic Centre last week.

The 19 areas include Mosques, Bo-Kaap Museum and a number of schools that were at the fore of the community concerns.

This comes after years of battle by the Bo-Kaap community, formerly known as Cape Malay, against the plan by the City of Cape Town to sell the area to developers.

The admired and multicultural community of this historical district has carried through the rich heritage and culture for the last two centuries.

“This is a great victory for the Heritage sector and it shows that through persistence and commitment, our heritage that is disregarded and perceived to be irrelevant can be preserved and protected,” commented Adv. Sonwabile Mancotywa, Chief Executive of the National Heritage Council of South Africa.

Minister Mthethwa committed that the ultimate goal is to protect the very soul of Bo-Kaap.

Previous Restoring the legacy of Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu

Quick links


353 Festival Street
1st Floor Hatfield
South Africa

Latitude: -25.7482731

Longitude: -28.2321192

National Heritage Council©2022.
All Rights Reserved
Connect With Us