Announcement of finalists for the Golden Shield Heritage Awards

The National Heritage Council of South Africa will be honouring winners of the Golden Shield Heritage Awards on 18 November 2015 from 18h00 at the Gallagher Convention Centre. The finalists in four categories have been named while those in the remaining six categories will be named at the awards ceremony.


The awards are the only recognition in South Africa for heritage practitioners and has grown to attract professionals in the sector. The main objective of the awards is to recognise the contribution of individuals, organisations and academic institutions towards preserving South African heritage. This will also provide the participants, especially the finalists and the winners, an opportunity to profile their work on a national scale.


The public was invited to nominate and motivate for their entries which closed on 30 August 2015. An adjudication panel comprising heritage practitioners had to evaluate all the nominations and select the best.


The finalists in the four categories are:

Preferred Heritage Destination (Klerksdorp museum and Parys Museum), Young Heritage Activist (Ms. Irene Mpolokeng and Mr. Leonard Mckay), National Living Treasure (Mr Vuka Tshabalala and Prof Cosby Mbele), Heritage Ambassador ( Tando Songwevu and Ms Bathandwa Mcuba).



The winners of the six categories will only be announced at the awards ceremony on 18 September; World Heritage Site of the Year, Heritage Leadership, Favourite World Heritage Site, Local Government Commitment, Academic Excellence and the Outstanding Funded Community Project.



Previous Traditional leader freedom fighter commemorated

Quick links


353 Festival Street
1st Floor Hatfield
South Africa

Latitude: -25.7482731

Longitude: -28.2321192

National Heritage Council©2022.
All Rights Reserved
Connect With Us