The Department of Sport, Arts and Culture (DSAC) released the Call for nominations, Rules and Guidelines for the South African Cultural and Creative Industry Awards (CCIA) on 08 February 2024. The closing date for submission of nominations is on Thursday, 29 February.

The South African Cultural and Creative Industry Awards (CCIA) is an initiative of DSAC that affords an opportunity for creatives and South Africans to honour the best amongst us, to acknowledge the wisdom, voice and experience of the creative community and its indomitable positive influence on the country’s nation building project and its ability to inspire the world.

The CCI Awards, are said to be most desired recognition and cultural phenomenon in the South African creative industry, bestowed to SA’s top and leading creatives in the various creative sector categories and subdomains, creatives that exhibit outstanding artistic and technical achievement.

These are creatives from across cultural domains that push the boundaries of their creative ability and show devotion to excellence with uncompromising quality, ground-breaking creativity and relentless innovation that defines those that are outstanding from the best.

The Sport, Arts and Culture intends to confer on them annually in appreciation of outstanding contributions to the creative sector as judged by the Cultural and Creative Industry Awards adjudication and judging panel.

The National Heritage Council (NHC) together with its sister entities such as National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA), Design Committee, National Library of South Africa (NLSA), Art Bank, industry experts and an auditing company carefully conducted a tight knit process to formulate the CCIA’s rules and guidelines.

The CCIA’s comprise of eight (8) categories and thirty awards (30)

  1. The Heritage Site Category (x3 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Museum Award

▪ Outstanding Archaeological & Historical Site Award

▪ Outstanding Cultural Landscape Award

  1. The Visual Arts & Craft Category (x3 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Visual Artist Award

▪ Outstanding Curator Award

▪ Outstanding Crafter Award

  1. The Literary Works Category (x4 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Children Fiction Book Award

▪ Outstanding Book, Fiction Award

▪ Outstanding Book, Non-Fiction Award

▪ Outstanding Publisher Award

  1. The Audio Visual & Interactive Media Category (x6 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Film Fiction Award

▪ Outstanding Documentary Film or TV Series Award

▪ Outstanding TV Drama Award

▪ Outstanding Actor TV and Film Award

▪ Outstanding Animation Award

▪ Outstanding Gaming Award

  1. The Design & Creative Services (x4 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Fashion and Textile Designer Award

▪ Outstanding Graphic & Multimedia Designer Award

▪ Outstanding Product Award

▪ Outstanding Architecture and Interior Designer Award

  1. The Performing Arts Category (x5 Awards)

▪ Outstanding Theatre Production Award

▪ Outstanding Dance Production Award

▪ Outstanding Musician Award

▪ Outstanding Actor in Theatre Award

▪ Outstanding Performance Award (Poet, Comedian)

  1. The Ministry (Discretionary Category) (x3 Awards)

These awards are decided, announced, and presented by the Minister

of Sport, Arts and Culture.

Lifetime Achievement Award

▪ Bestowed to someone with 20 years or more of documented

achievement and outstanding contribution over the individual’s whole

career to the South African creative industry and internationally.

Internationally Recognised Artist or Group Award

▪ This award is presented to an artist or group that has received

international recognition, exhibited, and performed on international

platforms for five years and more.

Artist with Disability Award

▪ This award is awarded to a person with a disability who has achieved

excellence in their craft within the creative and cultural industries.

  1. The People’s Choice category (x2 Award)

Breakthrough Artist Award

▪ This award is awarded to a ‘Newcomer’ in the industry that is creating

or producing brilliant work.

Online Creator of the Year

▪ The award is voted for by the public intended to honour and recognise

the most influential online voices and content producers across the

widest range of categories including lifestyle, finance, travel, comedy,

fashion, technology and more.

For the full list of rules and guidelines for the inaugural CCIA’s Awards, which

were put together and passed by the Nominations Committee click here: