Bo-Kaap areas declared national heritage sites

Bo-Kaap areas declared national heritage sites

A total of 19 areas in Bo-Kaap in the Western Cape have been declared as national heritage sites and gazetted in government’s official notice. This announcement was made by Arts and Culture Minister, Nathi Mthethwa at the Bo-Kaap Civic Centre last week.

The 19 areas include Mosques, Bo-Kaap Museum and a number of schools that were at the fore of the community concerns.

This comes after years of battle by the Bo-Kaap community, formerly known as Cape Malay, against the plan by the City of Cape Town to sell the area to developers.

The admired and multicultural community of this historical district has carried through the rich heritage and culture for the last two centuries.

“This is a great victory for the Heritage sector and it shows that through persistence and commitment, our heritage that is disregarded and perceived to be irrelevant can be preserved and protected,” commented Adv. Sonwabile Mancotywa, Chief Executive of the National Heritage Council of South Africa.

Minister Mthethwa committed that the ultimate goal is to protect the very soul of Bo-Kaap.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!